My Anxiety

my anxiety
it eats away at me

just because you can’t see it
doesn’t mean it’s not there

my anxiety
is a puppeteer,

telling me what i said the other day was a mistake
that nobody loves me
that i’mΒ alone

my anxiety is real
as a cage around me
a blanket smothering out the good in my life

i am expected to keep up a facade of happiness
while darkness lurks just right beneath

each happy memory is outcasted by a strange reply
or an awkward moment

you tell me that my anxiety isn’t real
well, it’s as real as each invisible breath you take

we all have our own monsters to fight
and this one is mine.

Leave a Reply

