{Book Review} A Study In Charlotte

AIYAH~
its been awhile since I posted! However, I have been really consistent on my bookstagram 😀 so I’m pretty excited about that! I post every day on my Instagram, so if you are interested in stalking me there feel free 😉 @jirehreads I love you all!
So let’s get on to the review!!


A-Study-in-Charlotte-315x475Details
Title: A Study in Charlotte
Author: Brittany Cavallaro
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Realistic Fiction
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books (March 1, 2016)
Age Range: 14+
Pages: 336 pages (hardcover)
Buy at: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Google Play | iBooks


 

 

 

Summary

Jamie Watson is given a scholarship to attend a Connecticut prep school, Sherringford. The situation is far from ideal, the school is close to his father whom he hasn’t seen in years, and he shares the campus with the infamous Charlotte Holmes. (But hey, it’s free.) He’s dreamed of meeting Charlotte Holmes from the moment he heard her name, and his mother’s warnings only spurred on his imagination. Their first meeting dashes away his dreams of working together. Charlotte is every bit brilliant like her ancestor and aloof. However, they are suddenly pushed together after a series of murders point to the duo. It becomes a race against time to clear their names and to find the killer before they strike again.

10/10

What I loved:

I loved reading mysteries in Middle School, especially Sammy Keyes, Enola Holmes, and Ruby Redfort! Go female detectives!!! I think with this books I rediscovered my love for mysteries and Sherlock Holmes adaptions.

I love how this book is deeply physiological. Jamie Watson is the reliable one out of the two. Completely unmysterious, simple, and amiable. Charlotte Holmes is the complete opposite. The whole mystery surrounds details from her past that she refuses to reveal and she is often times enigmatic and antisocial. Throughout the novel, the two characters are compared to each other, their differences and how they complement each other. Holmes is undoubtedly the sharper of the two but suffers from drug addiction like her famous predecessor. Watson is always there to help her even when she is too proud to admit her weakness. In many parts, I found myself getting emotional seeing Jamie care so much for Charlotte when her strong veneer cracks showing her brokenness. This isn’t the most romantic book compared to say Nicholas Sparks, but I was so emotionally invested in these characters.

PEOPLE DIE. Okay so I was really deceived by the cover, it didn’t look very mysterious and there was a cool kind of color scheme. I thought “oh this is gonna be a chill nice book”, BUT NO! People die, someone was raped, there is a fist fight. Just warning yall. It’s a little dark but not Steven King scary. I wouldn’t advocate letting middle schoolers reading this.

Sorry, I don’t want to scare anyone from reading this. This is a great adaption, I loved it! On the violence scale its about the same as the original Sherlock Holmes books.

I LOVE BRITS. (need I say more?)

So read this book! It’s definitely good for any age range from high school and above and especially good for all the girls who love mysteries! I  hope that you all are having a fantastic week!!! I can’t wait for the second book in this series to come out!

love,

Ji

2 thoughts on “{Book Review} A Study In Charlotte

Leave a Reply

