{Book Review} Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Hey, guys! I finished this book right before break and so here I am with a review!


Six-of-Crows

Details
-Title: Six of Crows
-Author: Leigh Bardugo
-Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult, Romance
-Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) (September 29, 2015)
-Age Range: 12+
-Pages: 480 pages (Hardcover)
-Buy at: Amazon | Barnes and Noble
  |Book Depository | Google Play | iBooks


Ketterdam is not for the weak heartened, it’s a bustling city full of trade, violence, and criminal activity. Kaz, a hardened teen aged criminal mastermind knows this very well. Kaz learns to hustle it good in Ketterdam, but one day he gets an offer he can’t resist. One that might get him the revenge he has long awaited for. But this is no ordinary heist, Kaz assembles a special team of criminals to break into one of the highest security prison in the world. These criminals might just be in for the big money, but their success of failure also determines the fate of the world.

10/10

So I am not ashamed to say that I really disliked The Grisha Series. Ok, maybe a little, because this book completely WOWED me. Like major WOW. Leigh Bardugo writes so well in this novel there is very little left before desired.

Sometimes I read a novel and it’s so hard to get through because all the characters SOUND THE SAME. Bardugo pays attention to detail. She makes sure all her six main characters are very well defined with different backgrounds. Inej is the awesome ninja wraith (SHE IS SO BADASS), Jesper has an unquenchable hunger for gambling and shooting people, Wylan the maybe-not-so-wimpy kid, Nina is a beautiful heartrender, Matthias the proper Fjerdan, and, of course, Kaz, the mastermind, with a mysterious past and an attachment to gloves. And it’s not just the descriptions and backgrounds of these six different characters, it the way they talk too.

β€œJesper knocking his head against the hull and cast his eyes heavenward. ‘Fine. But if Pekka Rollins kills us all, I’m going to get Wylan’s ghost to teach my ghost how to play the flute just so that I can annoy the hell out of your ghost.’

Brekker’s lips quirked. ‘I’ll just hire Matthias’ ghost to kick your ghost’s ass.’

‘My ghost won’t associate with your ghost,’ Matthias said primly, and then wondered if the sea air was rotting his brain.”

Ok, I’m binging a lot on the characters ( ❀ ) but I need to go on a little longer… I love how all the characters mix together so well. This book was an interesting character salad that was very delicious πŸ™‚ FOR AN EXAMPLE: I loved the Lunar Chronicles but I felt like the characters outside of their pairings didn’t cross over or interact with each other much. That bothered me. Bardugo tosses this salad just right so that you feel get a “group feeling” in this group.

SPEAKING OF PAIRINGS πŸ˜‰ (wink wink) I absolutely love how Bardugo paired everyone off. I need to be honest, I was worried for Jesper that he was gonna be the 3rd wheel, but he is cared for too. πŸ˜€ My absolutely favorite pairing is Nina and Matthias. *tears and sobs* They are soo cute! They have this hate-love relationship that not only speaks about their past but of 2 nations who have been at war for decades. It’s a unique way for Bardugo to give readers the tantalizing romance they want, but also feed you some deep thoughts. They are so perfect for each other. I would totally post a quote here, but I don’t want to spoil any moments for you guys πŸ™‚ .

Ok so the hype around this book is like crazy, but please don’t be afraid to read it. TRUST ME. I did not trust my librarian, I was very afraid 😦 I was wrong and this is an amazing book. Even if you hated the Grisha series, READ THIS BOOK. When you start reading you will find yourself caught up in a world you never want to leave, rooting for these badass bad guys, and hating the fact that the next book is coming out in September. (CAN I EVEN SURVIVE THAT LONG?!!)


Hey, guys I also wanted to mention that there are a lot of books that I have read and disliked. Is anyone interested in me doing posts about the books I disliked? LOL Sad Saturday Posts? I’m sorry I haven’t been able to post a lot I have been really really busy. I want to thank you all who have been steadfast and faithful to me XOXOXO ❀

 

One thought on “{Book Review} Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Great review. I always liked a book with badass characters. I wanted to read it ever since I saw it and you’re review makes me want to read it more and more. Maybe I will, when the price drops or maybe when there is not an imported edition here but a local one. Paperback is more expensive than Hardcover of this book. Believe it or not. LOL!

    Yea that would be great, you can also do a post of books which are raved about on the internet but you didn’t like them, or they weren’t deserving of the hype that they got. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

