{Book Review} The Wrath & The Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

Hey guys! I am absolutely ravin’ about this book so if you have a chance, do check this book out.


18798983.jpgDetails
Title: The Wrath and the Dawn
Author: Renée Ahdieh
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Historical Fiction
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers (May 12, 2015)
Age Range: 12+
Pages: 416 pages (Hardcover)
Buy at: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Google Play | iBooks


 

10/10

Based on the Arabian tale A Thousand and One NightsRenée Ahdieh weaves a captivating story about a kingdom with a mad king who kills a bride every single night. Shahzard’s best friend is one of the many girls killed, grief stricken, she vows to avenge her friend’s death by volunteering to be the Caliph’s next bride. Shahzrad has prepared her vengance, and has survived her 1st night, but what she isn’t prepared for next is falling in love with the very person she is to kill.

THERE ARE NO WORDS TO DESCRIBE THIS AMAZING BOOK!

Actually, there are lots of words to describe this amazing book. Ok sorry, I digress. I loved this book for many reasons. Renée Ahdieh is such a talented writer. Even though I may saw that a lot, the gravity of the word talented should not lose its’ weight.

For one, there is so much action going on in this book! While Shazi is trying to kill the king, then escaping assassination attempts, and also dealing with the evil uncle of her husband, her stupid ex-boyfriend is trying to incite a revolution over love, her dad is turning into an creepy magician with intents that are unclear, and everything is the country seems to be going crazy. And while everything in the plot is a mush of crazy events, everything in this romance of a novel is all going heartbreakingly RIGHT!

“When she wound her fingers in his hair to draw her body against his, he stilled for breath, and she knew, as he knew, that they were lost. Lost forever. In this kiss. This kiss that would change everything.”

I lost it right there when I read this line^^ *fans self*

DID I MENTION I LOVE THE COVER? (10/10)

Ok I guess I haven’t mentioned it a lot but book texture, the feeling of the binding and the pages, the cover, and smell matter a lot to me when choosing a book. Some books really peeve me because the binding is too stiff or feels flimsy, but this hardcover copy is perfection! (It’s so hard to describe, you need to buy or checkout a copy for yourself and just OPEN IT!) And then the pages! OMGFHSHKJGEOXKGQJHGF!!! The type is just the right style and size, the pages are cut different lengths to get that rough cut feeling, and the book smells like old parchment which equates to heaven in my senses.

I also love the sense of culture that Renée Ahdieh weaves into this novel. I feel like I’m there with Shazi, in an immense palace full of Arabian splendor, the long and colorful robes. Renée doesn’t need to find a unique or different style or storyline to bring appeal to the readers, her novel is so deeply woven into Arabian background and literature, her novel transports her readers to a different time and place. Absolutely freaking magical and amazing.

Sometimes I really hate romance novels with female protagonists, because usually after the girls falls in love with a guy she turns into an idiot, wimpy and solely dependent on her counterpart for help for the remainder of the novel. Shahzrad is none of that. She strong in her own right and she don’t need no man.

“We women are a sad lot, aren’t we?”
“What do you mean?”
“Strong enough to take on the world with our bare hands, yet we permit ridiculous boys to make fools of us.”

Another absolutelyfreakingamazing quote that describes how I feel.

So do I recommend this book? HELL YA! But please keep in mind, as freaking amazing as this book is, it’s a young adult novel so I wouldn’t give this book to elementary school kids or young middle school students. But if you are of age, THIS IS A MUST READ. My only regret is that this book is in a series so I am going to have to wait for the rest of the books to come out -_-

I hope you enjoyed reading my super long rant about this book and did not notice my overuse of ALL CAPS and grammer mistakes. And I also hope you guys had an amazing weekend. Spring break is coming soon so that means MORE TIME TO READ!

<3,

Ji

5 thoughts on “{Book Review} The Wrath & The Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

    1. This book is definitely top 5 of my favorite books right now! I was so mad when I found out that I had to wait for the second book 😥 I hope you have a great spring break too 😀 thanks so much for all your love and support! It means a lot to me! *sending hugs across the internet*

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

