{Book Review} Good Enough by Paula Yoo

GoodEnough


Details
Title: Good Enough
Author: Paula Yoo
Genre: Young Adult, Realistic Fiction
Publisher: HarperTeen; Reprint edition (May 8, 2012)(March 17, 2015)
Age Range: 11+
Pages: 336 pages (paperback)
Buy at: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Google Play | iBooks


7.9/10

In this simple yet poignant coming of age novel, Patti Yoon’s parents want her to be the PKD, (perfect Korean daughter) the straight A , 2300 on SAT student, and later in life successful Ivy League student. Yet in Patti’s last year of high school, she is discovering happiness in other things than just being the PKD. The question is whether she is brave enough to take a chance and find her own happiness.

This novel was just a little something my librarian at my high school picked up for me. (Thank You Mrs. Wang- I know you read my blog posts <3) I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it was a pleasant read.

For one thing, it’s very relatable. Unfortunately for many Asian Americans, we often have over zealous parents who want the best for us and can sometimes push us too hard. I see this a lot at my overwhelmingly Chinese-filled high school when I have friends who do P.E. in the summer just so that they can take 7 AP classes, just so that they can get accepted into UCLA or Yale or Brown or some other uppity fancy schmancy school. Fortunately, I don’t have these type of parents. For the most part, I am left to myself to pursue my hobbies (like blogging and bookstagramming :D) as long as I keep my grades up. So life is pretty good considering how my other  fellow students often suffer from their parents.

Yay! This main character also plays an instrument too! Patti plays the violin and nerds out several times about classical pieces :DD. I love her musical side.

Though I have to admit, this novel runs a bit on the predictable side, not being terribly creative. Girl gets pressured about life. Girl meets Boy. Boy inspires Girl. Girl crushes on Boy. Girl tries to find her own happiness. Girl is more mature at the end of the novel. BUT ONE GOOD THING HAPPENS. GIRL AND BOY DO NOT END UP TOGETHER. (sorry for spoilers, I just really needed to spread the good news) Trust me Girl, this way its so much better for your character development. YOU DON’T NEED NO MAN. XD Anyways even though it runs on the predictable side. I love how Patti does NOT end up with the boy she likes. This helps her mature more as a person, to handle rejection in life. Because come on. I am getting tired of cliche novels where the popular hot guy ACTUALLY goes for the short nerdy girl. Rejection is much more realistic in life. And as aforementioned much better for character development in a novel. 😀

DID I MENTION THIS IS FOR LISA YEE FANS BUT MORE IF YOU’RE KOREAN.

So 7.9 out of 10! (sorry I couldn’t decide whether I wanted to give this a 7 or 8 so I settled with a 7 but still felt guilty and put a .9 to make my rating verrry close to 8- hehee) This novel is a bit more on the short side but still sweet. No sequel, so you don’t have to worry about a series commitment once you start this book. If you are looking for a funny simple read then this is the book to go for. ENJOY! ❤

Leave a Reply

