{Book Review} Delirium by Lauren Oliver

bookcover_home_delirium


Details
Title: Delirium
Authors: Lauren Oliver
Series: Delirium Trilogy, Book 1
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Romance
Publisher: HarperCollins 2011
Age Range: 14+
Pages: 441 (paperback)
Buy at: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Google Play | iBooks


 

8/10

Everybody knows that love is a sickness, a disease. Lena is worried, because even though she hasn’t been infected, she is still uncured. Lena knows about delirium’s effects, she saw it first hand, the way it made her mother crazy and commit suicide. And that’s why Lena can’t wait for her procedure, in 95 days she will be love free.

I am so disappointed in myself that I did not pick up this book sooner! I kept seeing it on the shelf everywhere at the high school and middle school, and it was on my mental TBR checklist. Now that I have read this, I enjoyed it a lot! First of all, I love Lauren Oliver’s writing style! From start to finish is beautiful:

“I said, I prefer the ocean when it’s gray. Or not really gray. A pale, in-between color. It reminds me of waiting for something good to happen.”

Though the world that Lauren Oliver creates is so beautiful and creative, it’s her poetic writing that sealed the deal for me and this book.

I love the originality of this series and that the concept ACTUALLY makes sense. I tried to read The Program the other day and it was a terrible read for me. (I don’t really get how suicide becomes an epidemic) Love can be seen as a sickness, the way it can cause us to make irrational decisions, worry, and feel warm throughout suddenly. In this book, it’s unique how the characters find love when they are in a society that wants to eradicate it for all its bad traits.

The setting in this novel feels so real, I would like to quote Veronica Roth’s review from Good Reads where she states it perfectly:

“But with Delirium, I got the sense that it took place in an actual neighborhood, one that I could go and see, but with this looming sense of awfulness that is the fact that no one loves each other, no one can love each other. It’s just a few notches away from where we are– add a few dashes of government control and a “cure” for love and a few more rules/procedures/rituals and you have the world of Delirium. It does not feel like somewhere else; it feels like here.”

If this book was so perfect why did dock off 2 points? I felt that Lena and Alex’s romance draws away from Lena’s character. I always felt like Lena was a fuller character making decisions and taking chances by herself instead of relying on others. Cuz that’s just how kick ass she is.

If you were like me and have waited 5 long years and STILL haven’t read this book then why you still readin’ my blog. Get ya butt off your seat and drive to the nearest library and clear your weekend. This book is totally worth it.

If you have read this book, tell me how you feel! Did you enjoy this book as much as I did? Less? Comment below and lets talk!

5 thoughts on “{Book Review} Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

